You are here

African Growth and Opportunity Act

Enacted in May 2000, the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) is the cornerstone of U.S. economic engagement with the countries of sub-Saharan Africa. The agreement provides duty-free access to the U.S. market for eligible Sub Sahara African nations. In June 2015, the U.S government authorised AGOA for an additional 10 years.

AGOA has succeeded in helping eligible nations grow, diversify their exports to the United States, and create employment and inclusive economic growth. Under AGOA, eligible countries can export products, including value-added manufactured items such as textiles, to the United States duty-free.

Currently, all 5 EAC Partner States are currently eligible for the AGOA benefits; however, Burundis eligibility has been revoked with effect from 01 January 2016.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1