You are here

European Union Everything But Arms

Tailor-made to the specific needs of least developed countries, the EU’s “Everything But Arms” arrangement (EBA) was born in 2001 to give all Least Developed Countries full duty-free and quota-free access to the EU for all their exports with the exception of arms and armaments.

There are currently 49 beneficiaries under this arrangement. Entry into the EBA is automatic and, unlike other Generalised Scheme of Preferences arrangements, the EBA has no time-limit.

Currently, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda are beneficiaries of the of the EBA arrangement. Kenya’s successful move up the development ladder, the nation is no longer considered ‘least developed’ by the UN, thus, EBA preferences are no longer required.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1