You are here

EAC Organs and Institutions on Recess for Christmas and New Year Festivities

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 16 December 2016:

At the close of business today Friday 16th December, 2016, the offices of the EAC Organs and Institutions will be closed to allow the staff to be with their Families to rest and rejuvenate during the End/New Year Festive Seasons. The Offices will re-open on 9th January 2017. A skeleton staff will remain behind to run the offices.

The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko has sent a message of congratulations to all staff of the Organs and Institutions for their dedication during the year 2016. At the same time, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko is commiserating with all those who had problems of one kind or another in the course of the year, and, in particular, expresses his most heartfelt condolences to all those who lost their loved ones.

“As a result of your strong commitment, passion and dedication to the regional integration agenda, we have witnessed a lot of developments and achievements at individual and corporate levels”, notes Amb. Mfumukeko.

The Secretary General notes that several reforms, which he instituted in the Organs and Institutions aimed at cost reduction in the EAC projects and programmes early this year, were already showing positive developments. He says EAC has reduced its travel expenditures by 28% between May and November 2016, compared to 23% between May and November 2015.

The travel expenditure during May-November 2015 was US$ 9,905,244, and the same expenditure during May-November 2016 is US$ 7,160,279, making a saving of approximately US$ 2.75m.

On behalf of the EAC Organs and Institutions, the Secretary General wishes all a Happy Christmas and Prosperous New Year!

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1