You are here

Inter-Burundi Dialogue: Commencement of the Formal Dialogue after Completion of Consultative Talks.

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 08 February 2017:

The Former President of the United Republic of Tanzania, H.E. Benjamin William Mkapa, in his capacity as the Facilitator of the Inter-Burundi Dialogue has announced the commencement of the formal dialogue after completion of the consultative talks. The Session is scheduled for 16th  – 18th February 2017, at the Arusha International Conference Centre (AICC).

The convening of this session follows rigorous consultations the Facilitator made with various stakeholders within and outside Burundi, after which he identified an Eight-point Agenda raised by all stakeholders and agreed to be the main sticking points which he reported to the Summit in September 2016.

This Eight-point Agenda, which will form the thrust of the dialogue and subsequent negations, in no particular order of importance, includes: Security and commitment to end all forms of violence; Commitment to the Rule of Law and an end to impunity; Status of the implementation of the Arusha Peace and Reconciliation Agreement; Strengthening of Democratic Culture and Opening up of Political Space; Social and Humanitarian Issues.

Others are, Implementation of the EAC Summit Decision of July 6th, 2015 on the Formation of the Government of National Unity; Impact of the Crisis on the Economy; and the Relationship between Burundi, its Neighbours and other International Partners.

In this initial phase of this dialogue which is by and large a political process, the Facilitator will invite some of the Political Parties and important political actors to whom he will introduce the unpacked Eight-point agenda to determine areas of convergence and divergence.

Other stakeholders like the civil society organizations, religious groups, as well as women and youth will be invited in later sessions for a similar purpose. It is the expectation of the Facilitator that, in this initial dialogue, inputs from participant will draw up an outline of the would-be agreement to be continuously refined until when it fully agreed upon by all stakeholder and can be signed as a final agreement hopefully in June, 2017 as he envisaged.


Issued by:

Office of the Facilitator of the Inter-Burundi Dialogue on this day 8th February 2017

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1