You are here

New Ugandan High Commissioner presents Credentials to EAC Secretary General

New Ugandan High Commissioner presents Credentials to EAC Secretary General
New Ugandan High Commissioner presents Credentials to EAC Secretary General

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 13 September 2017:

The East African Community Secretary General, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko today received credentials from Uganda’s new High Commissioner to Tanzania and the EAC, H.E. Richard T. Kabonero.The accreditation of Amb. Kabonero took place at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Receiving the High Commissioner, Amb. Mfumukeko informed that in addition to the implementation of the Customs Union, Common Market and Monetary Union protocols, the EAC was currently mobilizing resources for diverse infrastructure development projects including railways and roads.

Amb. Mfumukeko said that the Community was also focusing on increased investment in the industrialization and agricultural sectors as part of strategies to reduce the high rate of unemployment in the region. He informed the High Commissioner that plans were underway to adopt Kiswahili as official language of the Community.

In his remarks, Amb. Kabonero commended initiatives being made by the EAC to address climate change, drought, food security and desertification in the region.

He urged the Secretariat to follow up with Partner States on the implementation of the EAC One Area Mobile Network, adding that only three countries had implemented the policy. He said joint infrastructure development initiatives including the oil pipeline from Lake Albert in Uganda to the Tanzanian port of Tanga would boost economic activity in the two countries.

Also present at the meeting were the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Planning and Infrastructure, Eng. Steven Mlote, Ugandan Embassy Liaison Officer in Arusha Nora Lema and Dr. James Njagu, Chef de Cabinet to the Secretary General.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at]


About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.


Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1