You are here

Press Statement by the Secretary General, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko upon Conclusion of his Visit to the Republic on South Sudan (RSS)

Members of the Media

Thank you for honouring our invitation to attend this media briefing. I am very delighted and excited to be here in this City of Juba.

For the past two days, we have been on a mission to familiarize ourselves with the Republic of South Sudan, not only the youngest member of the Community of nations but of the East African Community as well.

I would like to once again congratulate the Republic of South Sudan on her wise decision to join the East African Community as the sixth Partner State.

I must say here that the joining was just a formality because for many years there has been interaction and relationship between RSS and the EAC Countries. I am aware about increased trade volumes between RSS vis-à-vis the republics of Kenya and Uganda. There has also been support by other EAC Countries in various forms.

The EAC is an inter-governmental organisation of six countries namely, the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania. It is composed of various Organs and Institutions.

EAC Organs and Institutions

Being an Inter-governmental Organisation, the EAC has three major Organs which play the role of the Executive, Legislative and Judicial functions. These are the EAC Secretariat; East African Legislative Assembly, and; the East African Court of Justice.

The Secretariat is the executive arm of the Community. It implements decisions made by the Council of Ministers. The East African Legislative Assembly is the legislative arm of the Community which makes laws. The Assembly also performs oversight and representative functions like any other Parliament.

The EAC also has eight (8) institutions which perform specialized tasks. These institutions include: Lake Victoria Basin Commission; East African Kiswahili Commission; East African Health Research Commission; East African Science and Technology Commission; Civil Aviation and Security Oversight Agency; Inter-University Council of East Africa; East African Development Bank, and; Lake Victoria Fisheries Organisation.

Objectives of the Community Our objectives as a Community are stipulated by The Treaty, as:

  1. To ensure the attainment of sustainable growth and development of the Partner States;
  2. To strengthen and consolidate cooperation in agreed fields;
  3. To promote sustainable utilization of the natural resource base in the region;
  4. To strengthen and consolidate the longstanding political, economic, social, cultural and traditional ties between the people of East Africa.

Benefits of the EAC integration

The EAC integration comes with many benefits. It is expected that the people of RSS will also enjoy the numerous benefits which are listed as follows:

  1. Increased intra-regional trade;
  2. Increased cross-border investment;
  3. Elimination of non-tariff barriers to trade;
  4. Convertibility of EAC Partner States’ currencies;
  5. Harmonisation of education systems and curricula;
  6. Payment of tuition fees at local rates by EAC nationals studying in other Partner States as opposed to rates for foreign students;
  7. Abolition of visa fees for EAC nationals traveling to other Partner States;
  8. Collaboration in improving EAC citizens welfare in various sectors including education, health, agriculture and access to clean and safe water supplies;
  9. Cooperation in development of infrastructure including railways, roads, One Stop Border Posts and ports;
  10. Implementation of diverse initiatives aimed at providing East Africans with adequate, reliable and cost effective energy, and;
  11. Cooperation among Partner States in facilitating cross-border security, defence, peace and security initiatives.


Done at Juba, South Sudan this 16th day of March 2017

Share this page:


Quick EAC Facts

Quick EAC Fact# 1