The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania. The headquarters of the EAC are located in Arusha, Tanzania.

Together, the five East African countries cover an area of 1.82 million square kilometres and have a population of more than 133.5 million people who share history, language, culture and infrastructure. These advantages provide the Partner States with a unique framework for regional co-operation and integration. The combined Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the five countries is US$74.5 billion and an average GDP per capita of $558 (*2010 figures).

This Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30th November 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000, following its ratification by the three original Partner States, Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. The Republic of Burundi and the Republic of Rwanda acceded to this EAC Treaty on 18th June 2007 and became full members of the Community with effect from 1st July 2007.

(Amended on 14th December, 2006 and 20th August, 2007)