EAC20Plus logo

Germany commits Euros 35 million to EAC for Immunization Programme

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 2nd August, 2019: The Federal Republic of Germany has committed Euro 35 million to East African Community to be invested in vaccination programmes in the Partner States.

Speaking at the EAC headquarters,  Senior Policy Officer from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Ms Claudia Imwolde-Krämer said Germany is contributing Euro 35 million to immunization programmes in the EAC. “I appreciate and acknowledge the EAC’s efforts to immunize every child in the region”.

In his remarks, the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Planning and Infrastructure, Eng. Steven Mlote said the visit by Ms Imwolde-Krämer reaffirms the strong ties of friendship and cooperation between the EAC and the Federal Republic of Germany. “Indeed, the Federal Republic of Germany and the EAC have historically had strong and cordial relations dating back to the founding of the EAC, 20 years ago”, added Eng. Mlote.

Eng. Mlote noted that the two partners been cooperating in different areas with notable achievements being realized in the   Health and Pharmaceutical Sectors; Trade and Customs; Agriculture as well as Tourism.

The Deputy Secretary General thanked Germany for her generous support to the EAC, noting that the collaboration between the two parties continues to grow and become stronger.

Germany has been supporting immunization programmes in the region in close collaboration with the EAC and Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunizations (GAVI)) since 2013. The region has made great progress in introducing new, life-saving vaccines.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org