EAC20Plus logo

EALA swears in Rwanda's EAC Minister as Ex-Officio Member

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, Tanzania: June 23rd, 2020: The State Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation, Republic of Rwanda, Hon Prof Nshuti Manasseh, this afternoon, virtually, took Oath of Allegiance as an Ex-Officio Member of the Assembly.

Hon Prof Nshuti was sworn in to the House virtually before the Speaker and Members of EALA in line with the Rule 5 of the Rules and Procedures of the Assembly. The Rule 5(4) of the Rules of Procedure says in part that: “No Member can sit or participate in the proceedings of the House until the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance to the Treaty is taken”.

Hon Prof Nshuti was ushered in virtually (introduced by name) to the House by EALA Members, Hon Dr Pierre Celestin Rwigema in accordance with Rule 9 (2) on Administration of Oath or affirmation of the Rules of Procedure for Virtual Meetings and Sittings of the House. EALA Speaker, Rt Hon Ngoga Karoli Martin congratulated Hon Prof Nshuti upon his swearing in – as he assumes his ex-officio role in the regional August House. The Speaker said Hon Nshuti, a seasoned politician and academician was a ‘right fit’ for the Community having lived and worked in other parts of the EAC region

Hon Prof Nshuti was appointed State Minister in charge of EAC by H.E. Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda, on April 30th, 2020, replacing Hon Olivier Nduhungirehe.

Hon Prof Nshuti has previously served in a number of portfolios in the government.

Among these, he was formerly Minister for Commerce, Industry, Co-operatives and Tourism. Hon Prof Nshuti has also served as Minister for Finance, as well as Minister of Public Service and Labour in the Republic of Rwanda.

Hon Prof Nshuti holds a Ph.D. in Finance. He also holds a Masters of Business Administration in Accounting.

In his maiden statement on the floor today, Hon Prof Nshuti assured the House of his commitment to ensure full integration is realized. The Minister reiterated hard work and commitment, as he assumes the role of ex-officio Member of the Assembly, for the betterment of the people of the region. The Republic of Rwanda is the current Chair of the EAC Council of Ministers.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org

About the East African Legislative Assembly:

The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 62, of whom 54 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and eight ex-officio members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community).

The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is put in effect by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.  EALA has to date passed 80 pieces of legislation.


Tags: EALA

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org