EAC20Plus logo

Hon Amb Nibigira Ezechiel, Burundi's Minister for EAC, swears in as an ex-officio Member of EALA

EALA swears in Burundi’s EAC Minister as Ex-Officio Member

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, Tanzania: September 30th, 2020: The new Minister for East African Community Affairs, Youth, Culture and Sports, Republic of Burundi, Hon Amb Nibigira Ezechiel, this morning, virtually, took Oath of Allegiance, as an Ex-Officio Member of the Assembly.

Hon Nibigira was sworn in to the House virtually before the Speaker and Members of EALA in line with the Rule 5 of the Rules and Procedures of the Assembly. The Rule 5(4) of the Rules of Procedure says in part that: “No Member can sit or participate in the proceedings of the House until the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance to the Treaty is taken”.

Temporary EALA Speaker, Hon Rose Akol congratulated Hon Nibigira upon his swearing in – as he assumes his ex-officio role in the regional August House. Hon Akol said Hon Nibigira, was a seasoned politician/diplomat, who served Cabinet in various portfolio and said EALA was looking forward to working with him. “I welcome Hon Nibigira to the Assembly”, Hon Akol said.

Hon Nibigira was appointed Minister in charge of EAC by H.E. Evariste Ndayishimiye, President of Burundi, replacing the former Minister, Hon Isabelle Ndahayo.

Hon Nibigira has previously served in a number of portfolios in government and legislature in Burundi. He was previously Minister for Foreign Affairs in April 2018-July 2020. Prior to that Hon Amb Nibigira was Senior Economic Advisor of the Second Vice President. Hon Amb Nibigira who was a Member of Parliament, for a stint in 2015 and in 2010, also served as Burundi’s Ambassador to Kenya for two years (August 2021-2014). Hon Amb Nibigira, born in 1975 in Gishingano, Burundi holds a Master in Business Administration with a major in Finance and Accounting from the University of Liverpool and a Bachelor of Arts from Burundi’s Universite Espoir d’Afrique in the same field.   Hon Amb Nibigira is currently working on his doctoral dissertation.

In his maiden speech, Hon Amb Nibigira assured EALA of Republic of Burundi’s commitment to the integration process. “I am happy to participate in the session –I further commit to work with my colleagues as a team to enhance the agenda of the Community We will continue to share our experiences”, the Minister noted.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org

About the East African Legislative Assembly

The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 62, of whom 54 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and eight ex-officio members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community). The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is put in effect by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.  EALA has to date passed over 80 pieces of legislation

Tags: EALA

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org